## ACTA 2009 Trap and Skeet Hall of Fame Inductions

## TRAP HALL OF FAME

The function room at the Roma Clay Target Club was the venue for the 2009 Doug Smith Medal and Hall of Fame Inductions.

A large crowd of over 300 people gathered to celebrate the Inductions of Vin Ryan, Russell Mark and Lynne Curtis along with the presentations of the Grand Slam awards, Long Break awards and the Doug Smith Medal.

The MC for the evening was Glen Castellaro, assisted by Arty Del Ben, Glen Woodhatch, Steve Atkins and Ross Walsh.

The evening commenced with the presentation of the Grand Slam awards for 2008. The



Ross Walsh & Arthur Turner



Doug Smith Medal winner Steve Atkins with Doug Smith

winners were Glen Castellaro, Craig Bentley, Ross Walsh and Glen Barton. To achieve this award the recipient has to achieve a 400 break from 15 metres, a 50 break from 25 metres and a 50 break Double Rise.

The next awards to be presented were the long break awards for 2008. The winners were Ross Walsh with a break of 743 from 15 metres, Arthur Turner with a break of 74 from 25 metres and Ross Walsh again with a break of 108 Double Rise.



Gram Slam achievers Glen Castellaro, Craig Bentley, Glenn Barton & Ross Walsh

Glen then introduced the seven finalists for the 2008 Doug Smith Medal. The finalists were Craig Bentley from South Australia, Steve Atkins, Craig Fitzgerald, Marc Crimmins and Jamie Elliot from Victoria, John Maxwell from Queensland and Arty Del Ben from New South Wales.

After the closest contest in the history of

the award, the winner of the 2008 Doug Smith Medal was Steve Atkins.

The main event of the evening was the Hall of Fame inductions, this year we had three magnificent trap shooters to induct.

The first of these was Vin Ryan from Victoria. Vin was awarded this recognition posthumously and his brother and sisters were present to accept his award.

During his career Vin won 6 National titles, was runner up 3 times, won 7 State titles and made the Mackintosh team on 12 occasions.

The second inductee was Russell Mark from Victoria; he was present to accept his award and entertained the crowd with many interesting stories from his illustrious career.

Up until now he has won 11 National titles, has been runner up on 8 occasions, has won 22 State titles and made the Mackintosh team 11 times.

The final inductee for 2009 was Lynne Curtis from Victoria, he was also present to accept his award and although under considerable duress



Hall of Fame Inductee Vin Ryan's family accepting his award



Hall of Fame Inductee Russell Mark



Hall of Fame Inductee



Glenn Woodhatch, John Mack, Jim Shepherd Presidential Medal winner & Ron Traill



Presidential Medal winner Rodney Woodrow



Life Registered Shooter Bill Jones

provided by his interviewer Ross Walsh, he shared some of his favourite moments with the crowd.

Lynne has won 5 National titles, has been runner up 5 times, has won 8 State titles and has made the Mackintosh team on 8 occasions.

The presidential medal for 2008 was awarded to Jim Shepherd and Rodney Woodrow and there was a special presentation of a life membership to Bill Jones.

## **SKEET HALL OF FAME**

The function room at the Old Wagga Inn was the venue for the 2009 Adrian Cousens Medal and Hall of Fame Induction.

A crowd of over 70 people gathered to



Hall of Fame Inductee Mr Ken Lowry

celebrate the Induction of Ken Lowry along with the presentations of the Grand Slam awards, Long Break awards and the Adrian Cousens Medal.

The MC for the evening was Mark McInnes, assisted by Adrian Cousens and Paul Johnson.

The evening commenced with the presentation of the Grand Slam award for 2008. Mal Briggs was ably qualified for this award by

shooting a 200 break 12 gauge skeet, a 100 break 20 gauge skeet and a 100 break skeet doubles.

The next awards to be presented were the long break awards for 2008. The winners were Leigh Roberts with a break of 361 - 12 gauge skeet, Gil Farish with a break of 322 - 20 gauge skeet and Mal Briggs with a break of 100 - skeet doubles.

Mark then introduced the finalists for the 2008 Adrian Cousens Medal. The finalists were Leigh Roberts and Gil Farish from Victoria, David Dundon from Queensland and Julian Lucchitti and Peter Vella from New South Wales.

The winner of the 2008 Adrian Cousens Medal was Gil Farish. Gil had a memorable year with the highlight being his win in the National 20 gauge Skeet Championship with a new Australian record of 322/322.

The main event of the evening was the Hall Of Fame Induction, history was created when Ken Lowry was inducted into the Skeet Hall of Fame, he became the first person to be inducted into both the Trap and Skeet Halls of Fame.

Ken dominated Skeet shooting in Australia during the 1970's and was the first person to win the National Skeet Championship 3 times.

After accepting his award Ken then entertained the crowd with a wonderful array of stories about the sport in the 1950's 1960's and 1970's and was rewarded with a standing ovation. It was a real pleasure just to be there and listen.



Winner of the Adrian Cousens Medal for 2008 Gil Farish and Adrian Cousens



Mark McInnes assisted by Adrian Cousens and Hall of Fame Inductee Mr Ken Lowry



Paul Johnson, one of the MC's for the evening



ACTA Vice President Ron Traill



2008 Adrain Cousens Medal Finalists David Dundon, Julian Lucchitti, Gil Farish & Peter Vella

Australian Clay Target Shooting News